Sloan – Recorded Live At A Sloan Party! (1997,The Enclave)

Behold, the “mystery” live Sloan album.  Mysterious in the sense that there’s no mention as to when it was recorded, simply that the tape was rolling at a “Sloan party.”  And indeed, the set does bear a celebratory tenor to it, with hand-claps, audience banter and so forth.  Truth be told however, there was no actual “party,” and you can read a bit more about the circumstances here

The album was bundled as a bonus CD with the U.S. version of Sloan’s third album, One Chord to Another, upon it’s 1997 release.  Pictured to your left is the front of the slipcase.  I’m not sure how limited it was, but 5000 copies might be a good guess.  There are heaps of covers here – Jonathan Richman, Brian Ferry and even Canned Heat by way of Stereolab.  Sloan’s originals aren’t quite as prevalent, but “I Am the Cancer” (a classic single from Smeared) seems to be spruced up with extra harmonies for this occasion.  You can download it to your heart’s content in either FLAC or MP3

01. Let’s Get the Party Started
02. I Can Feel It
03. Dignified and Old
04. Glitter and Gold
05. Over You
06. I Am the Cancer
07. I Can’t Let Go
08. Stood Up
09. On the Road Again/Transona Five
10. I Wouldn’t Want to Lose Your Love

MP3 (320 kbps)  or  FLAC

Articles Origin: Sloan – Recorded Live At A Sloan Party! (1997,The Enclave)


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s