Greg Kihn Band – Next of Kihn (1978, Beserkley)

For what it’s worth, it’s long perturbed me that aside from two sizable hit singles that are still in classic rock rotation (“The Breakup Song” and “Jeopardy”) there seems to be a complete media blackout on the Greg Kihn Band.  I don’t get it.  The dude had far more hits than the aforementioned, not to mention a keen kihn commercial accessibility that played effectively to both the AOR masses, and us power pop types.  Most artists of his stature have enjoyed exhaustive album reissues/expansions, but save for a best-of or two Kihn’s catalog has languished out of print.  In fact, the GKB’s debut Next of Kihn made it into the digital era for what seemed like two minutes.  I don’t get this.  Really don’t get this.  Why do they want to deprive this man of a legacy and kill off the memory of his band?

Truth be told, Next of Kihn is a mixed bag, with some lengthier pieces that may have seemed ok when the record was tracked in ’78, but don’t quite translate forty years after the fact.  It’s the more concise cuts that do the trick for me – “Sorry,” as well as the absolutely pumping “Cold Hard Cash” and “Museum.”  Maybe not the textbook definition of power pop, but they truly don’t write ’em like this anymore.

Incidentally, a new Kihn album is slated for later this year.

01. Cold Hard Cash
02. Museum
03. Remember
04. China Town
05. Sorry
06. Everybody Else
07. Understander
08. Secret Meetings

Articles Origin: Greg Kihn Band – Next of Kihn (1978, Beserkley)


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s