I’m not looking for escapism, I just want to escape.

A compilation covering this UK post-punk outfit’s 1980-83 studio recordings.


Articles Origin: I’m not looking for escapism, I just want to escape.


The Reels – s/t (1979)

Denizens from down under, The Reel’s peppy, organ-induced wave/pop was seemingly derived from the blueprint of such Elvis Costello slammers as “Radio, Radio” and “Moods for Moderns.” To the band’s credit, E.C. wasn’t their only muse, boasting heightened rhythmic sensibilities that were more advanced than straight pub rock or power pop.  Robust but never overwhelming, The Reels manages to tread lightly into the same realm ska-lite demigods Madness were contemporaneously propagating.  The results are often infectious, with dizzying delights like “Prefab Heart,” “Plastic Pop,” and “Misused, Abused” all vying for the epitome of what this Aussie crew had to offer at the time.  The Reels didn’t do squat in the States, and moreover they didn’t hit pay dirt on their own home turf a couple years later with their breakthrough, Quasimodo’s Dream.  If this record alone won’t suffice, fear not, there’s more Reels available on iTunes and such.

01. Plastic Pop
02. Baby’s in the Know
03. Love Will Find a Way
04. Don’t Get Me Wrong
05. Wonder Why
06. Misused, Abused
07. Prefab Heart
08. Spot the Ridge
09. Apathy
10. Go Away
11. The Meeting
12. Livalafaway 


Articles Origin: The Reels – s/t (1979)


More (or less) than you can shake a stick at.  Enjoy.

SuperdragHead Trip in Every Key demos
Treepeople singles
Kilkenny CatsHands Down LP & 7″
The Trypesdemos
Maurice and the ClichesCes’t La Vie
The Special GoodnessAt Some Point, Birds and Flowers…
The Wind Living in a New World
Rubber SoleAppetite for Mayhem ep
Times BeachLove and Politics tape
OdolitesFace Down in the Violets, Chimes 7″, Persistence of Memory ep
Candydemos & live in Houston
Screaming Broccolis/t LP
BagsRock Starve
V/APure British Pop for Raw People Vols. 1 & 2
V/AHusker Du tributesCase Closed & A Boy Who Lives on Heaven Hill
YoCharm World
Mysteries of LifeGoing Through the Motions 7″
BeulahYoko demos
Smashing OrangeThe Glass Bead Game
The Pursuit of HappinessLove Junk demos, The Wonderful World of TPOH, I’m An Adult Now ep
Just WaterThe Riff
Cactus World NewsSpin Concert Series live LP
Indian BingoOverwrought & Scatologica
Creeper Lagoonrarities & live 1998
TinselQuit While You’re Ahead 
Tirez TirezSocial Responsibility
Summer SunsGreatest
How Happy7″
Here Kitty KittyKiss Me You Fool ep
Diamond Fist Wernytape
WestmorelandsFor Life’s History ep
Western Eyess/t LP
LucasThe Last Taboo ep

Articles Origin: Re-ups.

Crossfire Choir – Back to the Wall (1988, Track Record)

By popular demand here’s the follow-up album to the first Crossfire Choir LP that I shared with you late last week.  The Ed Stasium-produced Back to the Wall eschews a lot of the gratuitous ’80s gloss of the Choir’s debut, and by and large opts for a more organic penchant.  The results aren’t always consistent, but Wall finds the boys with their fingers on the pulse of something approaching power pop on “Do What You Want” and “Even Now.”  “Bombs” and “I Don’t Feel Like Dancing” exhibit some discernible and much appreciated vigor, while the concluding “Shrink Rap” is a goofball hip-hop pisstake that buttons up the record in less than dignified fashion – but not enough to dissuade you from exploring the preceding eleven songs. 

01. Catalyst
02. Yeah, Yeah, Yeah
03. Back to the Wall
04. Driven Man
05. Bombs
06. Neverland
07. Canary Song
08. Even Now
09. I Don’t Feel Like Dancing
10. I Don’t Think So
11. Do What You Want
12. Shrink Rap


Articles Origin: Crossfire Choir – Back to the Wall (1988, Track Record)

Crossfire Choir (1986, Passport)

More rock o’ the ’80s, comin’ atcha.  So…this one wasn’t exactly what I was expecting.  I’ve been interfacing with Crossfire Choir’s albums for awhile – more like a decade or so to be exact.  I initially took the plunge with their third record, Dominique a couple years ago (which I’ll get to in a future post) but I thought I’d start chronologically with these Florida to NYC transplants. A good half of the quartet’s selftitled debut is actually pretty respectable, albeit nondescript at points.  Residing in the middle of the FM bandwidth, the band offer meager concessions to us left field types, sporting an array of mainstream-ish likenesses such as late ’80s Duran, the Alarm, and Glass Tiger (yeah, I know, but occasionally accurate).

Oddly enough, C/C would wind up accumulating artistic cred as their tenure progressed, which was usually the polar opposite with any of their contemporaries, famous or otherwise.  So far as this platter is concerned, revelations are in short supply yet it’s more than listenable, perhaps with one glaring exception.  One of Crossfire Choir’s key selling points for yours truly was the inclusion of a CD bonus track (remember those?), “Frantic Romantic.”  Any indie music-head worth their salt would make the safe assumption this was a cover of the Scientists post-punk classic, but startlingly it’s an original – one that veers heavily in the vicinity of Oingo Boingo to boot.  Bummer.  Here’s a link to an archived article on the Choir pertaining to the era surrounding the record in question. 

01. Love Hate Relation
02. Nation of Thieves
03. To Be Young
04. Walk Walk
05. The Last Word
06. Well Lets…
07. What’s it to Ya?
08. Disappointment

09. Blue Eyed Thunder
10. Spark In Your Eye
11. Left Behind
12. Hell Hath No Fury
13. Waiting
14. Heaven and Earth
15. The Bringing
16. Frantic Romantic


Articles Origin: Crossfire Choir (1986, Passport)

Me – Here Comes Everybody 7″ (1993, spinART)

I picked up this one based on a pretty reliable trademark of quality, the spinART Records logo.  The bargain price didn’t hurt either.  Bearing an undeniably selfish moniker, Me evidently called Bristol, England home.  You can imagine what a Google-induced nightmare awaits you when looking up this five piece, but I digress.  On top of that, they aren’t the most convenient to typecast either.  The A-side, “Here Comes Everybody” is awash with subtle neo-psych overtones, mildly akin to the Boo Radleys, and even less so the Lilys and Elephant 6 conundrums Olivia Tremor Control. To my ears the second flip-side, “Lucy” is the real deal, which deliberately or not finds Me melding C86 Britpop to the harmony laced aesthetic of old school power pop champs the Rubinoos.  My cup runneth over…at least for a good three minutes anyway.  Several more Me singles and full lengths are available.  

A. Here Comes Everybdoy
B1. Quester
B2. Lucy


Articles Origin: Me – Here Comes Everybody 7" (1993, spinART)